Actor Profile: Bryce Willey

_MG_0996Bryce Willey (Seymour) is a freshman Computer Science and VADA double major at Baker College. He also appeared on stage at Rice in A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Flute/Thisby).  His credits behind the stage include sound operator for Rabbit Hole and [title of show], and sound design for And Then There Were None.  He would like to thank his fellow cast and crew members, George and Jack, his family, and Michael Hollis.  

What has been your favorite part of the rehearsal process?
Working with Jack and George and being able to do things that I never though I could do until I tried.  There were a lot of times that I was asked to do crazy stuff, like rolling around the floor and things outside my comfort zone in general.  I’m always be awkward the first few times, but I’m getting more confident and bolder in my acting.

What has been the biggest challenge in this process?
Trying to find who Seymour is.  He is nice, mild mannered, and timid, but there’s some sort of mix of rage, confidence, hope, strength hidden inside him that I’ve spent a lot of time trying to find.

How has your Little Shop experience differed from other theatre experiences (either at Rice or somewhere else)?
Seymour is the first big role for me since I was in 6th grade.  When you’re in 6th grade,  nothing is really that hard.  You just get your lines, have fun, and be 11 years old.  Needless to say, the stakes are a little higher.   Compared to other Rice productions, I feel like this one is the biggest and the most demanding, with the most energy and the hardest work.  There is just so much effort from all aspects of the production going into this, from the set, to the props, to the acting.  I haven’t been pushed this hard for a while, but I love the challenge.

Tell me your favorite line from the show:
Can it be a stage direction?  If it can, then “In a frenzy of parental enthusiasm…..”
If not,  then “Bigger than Hula Hoops.”  Cause nothing is bigger than hula-hoops.

If you somehow came to possess an alien man-eating plant, what would you name it?
In honor of our director,  George 2.

Anything else you’d like to say about your experience so far, or about the Rice Players/VADA in general…
It is the funnest thing I’ve done at  Rice, and I don’t think I’ll stop anytime soon!

Leave a comment